to run the race

September 23, 2006

To those of you DBCS Cross-Country Fan Club members . . . if you will permit me a few moments of bragging, I must say that this was a huge victory for us, especially for the women’s team. This time all my girls finished the race. Which may not seem like such a huge deal but for us, it was. You see, my asthma-plagued runner has not yet completed a course–she has difficulty running on her own and so, once her asthma gets to her, she gives up if I am not there to coax her along. So before this race I gave pep talks over and over . . . and over again, that they all could finish–they just had to remind themselves that they could. If they had to take walking breaks, so be it–but just keep going again. Walk, then run again. Just don’t give up altogether–keep trying!
Well by God’s mercy, they did . . .at the very end the other coaches were beginning to take down the finish line and gather the time sheets when I ran to stop them: “Wait! I still have a runner out there!” Then I turned back around towards the course and threw my arms up at the sight of my beautiful runner, solitary but steady, persistently nearing the finish . . . “KAT!!!” I beamed at her and shouted a few hoarse cheers as she finished. As she finished. Yes, it was a victorious evening, and the ride back that night was a happy one–a tired, sweaty, somewhat smelly, and contented homecoming :-)

Leave a Reply

