finicky fishies

January 15, 2010


When I spotted this fisherman and his paraphernalia out on the lake this morning, I first thought that it was some sort of preparation for the annual ice-cutting later this month. So I stopped and called out, “Excuse me, sir: would you mind if I ask you what you’re doing?” [never mind the fact that it was of course too late, by this point, to ask if he minded my query :-)]. He was kind enough to not only not mind, but to oblige my curiosity by explaining a bit about the process of manually drilling holes for ice fishing–and to allow me to photograph the process. It seems that, so far today, the fish have not been cooperating very well . . . the nerve!

Leave a Reply

