chiming in

April 15, 2010

There has been a “Poetry Wednesday” circle amongst some of my blogger buddies that I have been following for several months now. But I have not joined in, preferring to just enjoy others’ posts. I decided to chime in this week, however. Largely, this is due to my own contemplative and creatively-inclined state of mind as of late. When I am in such a mood, I tend to remember past artistic loves, as well as embarking upon new ones. At the moment, I have been musing on the first poetry I really resonated with: I didn’t even know why . . . still don’t, for that matter! But for whatever reason, I fell in love with A.A. Milne’s “Buttercup Days” back in high school–before I even really liked poetry all that much, so far as I can remember. I read it as school required, but wouldn’t have dreamed of recreationally writing it, as I do now. Enough said . . . here it is :-)

Buttercup Days

Where is Anne?
Head above the buttercups,
Walking by the stream,
Down among the buttercups.
Where is Anne?
Walking with her man,
Lost in a dream,
Lost among the buttercups.

What has she got in that little brown head?
Wonderful thoughts which can never be said.
What has she got in that firm little fist of hers?
Somebody’s thumb, and it feels like Christopher’s

Where is Anne?
Close to her man.
Brown head, gold head,
In and out the buttercups.

-A.A. Milne. “Now We Are Six”

Leave a Reply

