just another loon

May 30, 2010

As I dragged the kayak out onto the water this afternoon, I wondered if those who teased me were right: I was told I would end up beached, with the waters as choppy as they were.  But I just couldn’t resist the serendipitous combination of a few hours of free time + the fact that I had not yet been on the lake this year [only “in”].

So while out I chuckled at this feathered companion as she dove in and out in the waves; each time she disappeared under the surface I would scan the area, hoping to catch her as she emerged.  I also could not help but take comfort in the fact that I was not the only “loon” out on the lake.

*You may just have to take my word for it that the small black triangle near the center of this photo is, in fact, the head of a duck . . . not exactly the most obvious visual aid :-)

Leave a Reply

