ja?

May 25, 2011


I gave the wrong reply this afternoon, when Oma asked me, “Braucht deer pracher auch bedienta?” Trying to think fast, I said “Ja,” handing her cup to her. She raised her eyebrows then: “Oh?” So I changed my reply to “Nein.” But she laughed and said that today, perhaps, “Ja” was right. Maybe today “the beggar does need service” . . . or something along those lines.
At any rate, I am trying to remedy my erring German ways these days. So today I celebrated my new local library card with this, my first check-out [which I posed next to the bouquet Oma picked from our yard this afternoon, as she laughed at my odd still life]

Leave a Reply

