trees and seas

June 26, 2011


I was treated to a drive along the Pacific Northwest coastline this afternoon, with the good company of some old family friends, and their wisdom about the area. I told them I was wishing my camera was not packed away in my suitcase at the time, as I learned an interesting tidbit about local trees. One of the most common trees we saw along the coast was what I think they called a Pacific Medrone. With reddish bark that peels like a Eucalyptus, it stands out once you know what to look for. So I wanted to capture a visual to go along with this bit of knowledge I had just happily gleaned. But no–locked away in the trunk was my camera.
So later, once on the ferry, I took advantage of my in-hand suitcase and the consequent photo-freedom to snap a few shots of the beautifully watery scenery: and this snazzy “pirate ship,” for lack of a more knowledgable naming on my part :-)

Leave a Reply

