history & a house

July 17, 2011


As I carried on with cabinet-painting this afternoon, I thought about how much I like them. They are nothing to . . . write home about [:-)], but nice in a simple, solid sort of way. A few days ago my grandfather mentioned a small fact about these cabinets that made me not so surprised about how much I like them: turns out they were built by his brother-in-law, in 1960. And I had also forgotten the history behind this place that is now, unfortunately, a not-so-pleasant rental property: it was actually built by my grandfather’s uncle. The history behind homes and landscapes is always bittersweet when time has not been so kind to the location . . .

Leave a Reply

