two by two

September 30, 2011


We felt oddly normal, this afternoon. After our weekend small group, we had a ladies’ potluck. At one point I walked into the garden to chat with my coworker, telling her how cute she looked in the middle of the roses. When I asked if I could take her picture, she responded by pointing near her feet and asking me if I could get the ants with my camera. I told her I thought I probably could.
It hadn’t occurred to me beforehand but, doing so, it felt like the most natural thing in the world to enjoy the sight of those little ants as they carted their picnic treasures back to the nest. I guess sometimes it takes the humdrum pleasures to remind you that the simple things are important too: at times, perhaps, more so than the “majors” or life . . .

Leave a Reply

