sweetly green

December 20, 2011


Everything is sweeter now. From my world of extremes I come to a world of family. To a world of friends. To a world of great privilege. And to a world of freedom. I find that my senses are heightened to it all, and that I feel like I am breathing in deep breaths of freedom-infused oxygen. I also get teary-eyed quickly, sometimes for rather insignificant seeming reasons. Today it was turning on the car radio and hearing “Emmanuel” that started the tears. And the simplest things are so beautiful. We picked collard greens this afternoon, and I just found them too beautiful not to photograph. Silly? Perhaps. But so be it. It is life-giving to me right now, so I share it as it is, with no apologies!

Leave a Reply

